Share or Save this page

DOD TBI Center Nominated for Medical Excellence Award

7th Annual Major Jonathan Letterman Medical Excellence Award logo. Learn more about the award

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Defense Department’s traumatic brain injury (TBI) center of excellence is a finalist for the 7th Annual Major Jonathan Letterman Award for Medical Excellence. The Defense and Veterans Brain Injury Center (DVBIC), a component of Defense Centers of Excellence for Psychological Health and Traumatic Brain Injury (DCoE), is nominated for its leadership in care, research, and education efforts that have improved traumatic brain injury patient outcomes.

“We are extremely honored to be nominated for the Major Jonathan Letterman Award for Medical Excellence,” said Army Col. (Dr.) Sidney R. Hinds, II, DVBIC’s national director. “In the realm of traumatic brain injury, DVBIC strives to live up to many of the principles for which Major Letterman and this award stand: early identification, early treatment and focusing on the best outcomes. The latter is a function of the first two. We are humble to be included with the caliber of the other, deserving nominees.”

Annually the National Museum of Civil War Medicine presents the Letterman Award to one individual and one organization that have led innovative efforts in improving outcomes for patients with catastrophic injuries or developing new medical technologies to assist Armed Forces members or severely wounded civilians. This year’s respective awardees will be selected from 10 finalists at a ceremony on Oct. 23 in Bethesda, Maryland. Proceeds from the event will benefit the museum’s educational outreach programs and the Letterman Institute.

“This year’s nominees are extraordinary,” said April Dietrich, director of the Letterman Institute at the museum. “They feature innovators in the areas of research, telemedicine, robotics, rehabilitation and regenerative medicine.”

The other nominees for this year’s organization award are the Center for Neuroscience and Regenerative Medicine; McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine; Naval Hospital Camp Lejeune Warrior Rehabilitation Team; and United States Army Institute of Surgical Research.

Established by Congress in 1992, DVBIC is part of the U.S. Military Health System and its staff serves as the Defense Department’s primary subject matter experts on TBI. DVBIC serves active duty military, their beneficiaries, and veterans with traumatic brain injuries through state-of-the-art clinical care, innovative clinical research initiatives and educational programs, and support for force health protection services. DVBIC fulfills this mission through ongoing collaboration with the DoD, military services, Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), civilian health partners, local communities, families and individuals with TBI. At 11 DoD medical treatment facilities and five VA medical centers, DVBIC treats, supports, trains and monitors service members, veterans, family members and providers who have been, or care for those who are, affected by TBI.

For information about the Defense Centers of Excellence for Psychological Health and Traumatic Brain Injury, including DVBIC, visit the DCoE website.

See press release

Comments (2)

  • How wonderful!! I have worked with TBI veterans for over 7 years . You have done a great job !! Keep it up ! Lets even do more!! Thanks again for all the work you do!!
  • Ms. Williams, thank you for your continued services to our nation’s veterans and for your support!

Add new comment

DCoE welcomes your comments.

Please do not include personally identifiable information, such as Social Security numbers, phone numbers, addresses, or e-mail addresses in the body of your comment. Comments that include profanity, personal attacks, or any other material deemed inappropriate by site administrators will be removed. Your comments should be in accordance with our full comment policy regulations. Your participation indicates acceptance of these terms.

Please read our full Comment Policy.

You must have Javascript enabled to use this form.
This page was last updated on: September 14, 2017.